blindly

she whispered in his ear softly

this isn’t working for me anymore…

and he held his breath

and he held her hand

she cried softly as she whispered

I’m so sorry I can’t do this anymore

I can’t pretend anymore…

and he felt his heart crack just a little more than it already had

and he wanted to protest

to remind her how she once loved him blindly

how she once loved him fully

but he listened to her soft cries and felt her hand

fading from his

so he whispered back to her

I know sweetheart

I already know that you are gone…

©2017 erin hoffman – all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

