later

And later –

later, when I’m crying and you are pushing me away –

claiming this is all made up and the flowers were nothing meaningful

and your smell has left my sheets

and then-

then will you ever be able to acknowledge

your smile was real and it fed my smile

and our hands know the geography of each other well enough…

enough-

so much that we can stop pretending

that it was all imaginary and that i made it all up

because later… even just a few days later…

you’ll still want me and

crave me and

find ways to be with me

even if later its just one more night away…

©2017 erin hoffman – all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

