angels

* from a journal of snippets, circa 2004…*

{smile at me ’til I cry}

I wanted you so bad

last night I hummed your

heartbeats to sleep

{when I see you my eyes hit the pavement}


 

rinky-dink dinky-town

six girls with a hooker/one of them is jealous

drunk guys all around/she hits the floor smoothly

down the block he goes/up the street with showman eyes

no-one can tell who’s the queen anymore

good-night, goodbye, good-girl/fair skin in the dusk hours

fade into the moonlight tonight


somber is the sober night

when all my drink is gone, I cry…

stale smoke & cigarette butts

clouded my judgment when I said yes

he strums a simple guitar with words

that make my heart cry

 

© 2017 erin hoffman – all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

